Metamagic is one of the most interesting wrinkles when it comes to casting spells in 5th Edition D&D. Through the use of sorcery points, you can sculpt the way your magic works by changing the damage types you deal or protecting party members from a fireball blast. Twinner Spell is one of my favorite options. You can learn more about this metamagic option that lets you cast a spell against additional targets in our Twinned Spell 5E Guide.
How Does Twinned Spell Work in 5E?
Twinning a spell is by far my favorite way to spend sorcery points outside of exchanging them for more spell slots. By burning a few points, you can double the impact of a single spell slot. In some cases, this can dramatically increase the damage you spread around to multiple targets. In others, you can use apply conditions to enemies or even heal allies without spending another action and spell slot. The cost for higher spells can be steep, but a sorcerer will always have a total amount of sorcery points available to twin their highest level spell at least once.
One of the most important things you need to remember is that you can only twin spells that target one creature. That means your dream of twinning your fireball spell is dashed forever. In fact, the sorcerer spell list doesn’t have a lot of options for twinning spells that deal damage. Scorching Ray is one of your best bets, but this second-level option is the highest damage spell you can twin. Still, there are plenty of other non-damage options that are great for twinning on that spell list, including spells like Blindness/Deafness.
Twinning spells can also be even more valuable depending on your choice of subclass. For example, a Divine Soul Sorcerer gets access to healing magic from the Cleric spell list. Being able to twin healing word or cure wounds could make a major impact in a close fight.
Can Twinned Spell Target the Same Creature?
A twinned spell cannot target the same creature twice. There is some confusion on this rule, as the wording of Twinned Spell specifies a “second creature” as opposed to the commonly-used language “another creature.” I think the spirit of the rule here is clear, and that you cannot twin a spell and target the same creature a second time. Thankfully, don’t have to take my word for it, as Jeremy Crawford has confirmed you must target a different creature.
It is also worth mentioning that you cannot twin a spell that targets one creature if the spell itself affects multiple creatures. For example, you cannot twin spell Hex. Even though you are casting on a single target, the spell could eventually target a different creature.
Do You Roll Twice for Twinned Spell in 5E?
When you twin a spell that requires an attack roll, you roll twice. Since you are essentially casting two spells at two different targets, there is the possibility that one could miss and the other hits. What’s more, you could score a critical hit against one target but not another. In addition to rolling two attack rolls, you must also make two damage rolls if both spell attacks are successful.
Can You Twin a Cantrip?
The text of the Twinned Spell metamagic option makes it clear that you can use this option on a cantrip. The wording even spells out that twinning a cantrip costs one sorcery point, which is the same as a first-level spell. This makes sense, as the ability to twin a cantrip without expending any sorcery points at all would be horribly overpowered.
Twin Spell 5E FAQ
Can You Twin Spell Eldritch Blast?
You cannot twin spell eldritch blast. This spell seems like it could go either way, because it CAN target a single creature other than yourself. However, it also could target multiple creatures if you choose. This ability to target additional creatures is what excludes Eldritch Blast from twinning. As Jeremy Crawford explains, any spell that is capable of targeting more than one creature cannot be twinned. That is true even if you use that spell against a single target.
Can You Twin Spell Dragon’s Breath?
You cannot twin spell Dragon’s Breath. As discussed above, twinning a spell is not possible if the spell affects more than one creature. This is true even if the spell only targets one creature. Since this spell can affect multiple targets, it cannot be twinned.
Can You Twin Spell Haste?
You can use twin spell to cast Haste. Haste meets all of the requirements: it targets a single creature, it does not have a range of “self,” and it does not effect multiple targets. This has caused some confusion, as haste gives a second action, and that action could potentially impact additional creatures. However, giving an additional action does not impact other creatures directly, so Haste can be twinned.
Be the first to comment