Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything Paladin Guide | Optional Class Updates

tashas cauldron of everything paladin

We have a new 5th Edition supplement on our hands – Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything. This book is full of new character options that provide alternate features for every class. The paladin is no exception! In addition to a brand new subclass, the paladin gets other tweaks that might be useful to you. Strap in and check out our Tashas Cauldron of Everything Paladin Guide.

Tashas Cauldron of Everything Paladin Guide

In Tasha’s Cauldron, the paladin gets a few new options. This post is designed to expand on our comprehensive Paladin 5E Guide by covering what is new to the class in Tasha’s Cauldron. In addition to a brand new archetype and a reprinted subclass from Mythic Odysseys of Theros, it also includes some optional class features.

Optional Class Features

The optional class features are a mix of new spells, fighting styles, and optional features.

Additional Paladin Spells

In total, paladins gain five spells that are added to their class list. These spells include:

  • Gentle repose
  • Prayer of healing
  • Warding bond
  • Spirit shroud
  • Sumon celestial

Fighting Style Options

When you pick a fighting style at level 2, you gain three additional options to choose from. Blessed Warrior gives you two cleric cantrips that you can cast as paladin spells. Blind fighting gives you blindsight for 10 feet which allows you to “see” anything in that range that is not behind full cover. This includes invisible creatures. Finally, Interception allows you to deflect damage dealt to a nearby ally following a successful melee strike.

Harness Divine Power

At level 3, you can use your Channel Divinity to regain spell slots instead of using it for its standard ability. As a bonus action, you can use your Channel Divinity to regain a spell slot that is no higher than half of your proficiency bonus, rounded up. At level 7 you can do this twice per long rest. At level 15, thrice. In my eyes, this is a cool option for those subclasses with situational Channel Divinity options.

Martial Versatility

Martial versatility lets you alter your fighting style. Starting at level four, you can change your fighting style each time you are granted an Agility Score Improvement. You must select your fighting style from the paladin options.

New Sacred Oaths

The paladin only gets one new subclass in Sasha’s Cauldron. However, it does include a reprint of the Oath of Glory.

Oath of the Watchers

The Oath of the Watchers has a very specific theme. As a watcher, you are tasked with guarding the material plane from extraplanar threats. Your channel divinity is similar to a cleric’s turn undead. Instead, you can turn extraplanar beings like fey, fiends, celestials, aberrations, and elementals.

The rest of the subclass is a mishmash of utility and support. You have higher level features that boost you and your party’s initiative rolls and eventually gain truesight. It’s a fun theme, although the subclass doesn’t stand up well unless you are in a campaign that is heavy on extraplanar critters.

Wrapping Up

That concludes our Tashas Cauldron of Everything Paladin Guide. Get what you need? We hope so! If you are after more Tasha’s content, check out our Tasha’s Cauldron Ranger Guide.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.