Tashas Cauldron of Everything Ranger Guide | New 5E Ranger Options

tashas cauldron of everything ranger

Oh boy, Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything is here! Nearly 200 pages of new character and DM options are upon us. In fact, the bulk of the book is dedicated to character options. Each class gets at least one new subclass as well as some additional tweaks to the class itself. Learn about these new options in our Tashas Cauldron of Everything Ranger Guide!

Tasha’s Cauldron of Everything Ranger Guide

The ranger class, in particular the beast master archetype, has been maligned throughout the course of 5E’s history. There has long been a silver of hope on the horizon in the form of interesting Unearthed Arcana changes to the class. Well, those charges are officially here now!

I’ll be honest; I never thought the ranger was as bad as some. While Beast Master had issues, the class as a whole is pretty strong. These new options definitely make things better whether you felt the same way as I did about the original class. This supplement assists the ranger in a few ways. It adds optional class features, spells, and fighting styles. It also adds two new subclasses and tweaks some issues with the Beast master.

Optional Ranger Class Features

Like with all classes, Tasha has a slew of alternative class features for the ranger. These are not mandatory and do not replace the features in the core rules. Instead, they exist to offer your table options on how rangers develop.

Deft Explorer

Deft Explorer replaces Natural Explorer at level 1. It starts with giving you two languages and one skill proficiency. At higher levels you gain walking speed, temporary hit points, and improved exhaustion recovery.

Favored Foe

Favored Foe replaces Favored Enemy at Level 1.When you hit a creature with an attack roll, you can call on your mystical bond with nature to mark the target as your favored enemy for 1 minute or until you lose your concentration (as if you were concentrating on a spell).

The first time on each of your turns that you hit the favored enemy and deal damage to it, including when you mark it, you can increase that damage by 1d4.

You can use this a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus before needing a long rest. Your damage also increases to 1d6 at 6th level and to 1d8 at 14th level.

More Ranger Spells

Rangers get fourteen new class spells in total, and they can now cast them with a druidic focus. These spells include:

  • Entangle
  • Searing Smite
  • Aid
  • Enhance ability
  • Gust of wind
  • Magic weapon
  • Summon Beast
  • Elemental weapon
  • Meld into stone
  • Revivify
  • Summon fey
  • Dominate beast
  • Summon elemental
  • Greater Restoration

More Fighting Styles

Tasha also drops three new fighting styles for your ranger. Blind Fighting gives you blindsight within 10 feet. When in that range, you can essentially see anything not behind total cover. this includes invisible creatures that are not hiding.

Druidic Warrior gives you two cantrips from the druid spell list, but they are cast as ranger spells.

Thrown Weapon Fighting lets you draw a weapon with the thrown property as part of that attack. Additionally, you add +2 damage to any attacks with thrown weapons.

New Subclasses

See Our Guide to Tasha’s New Subclasses!

There are two new ranger subclasses, and they both have very unique flavor. First up is the Fey Wanderer. You are touched by the magic of the fey, giving you an array of powers including dealing psychic damage and resisting charm effects. At higher levels you can cast misty step at will and summon a fey creature. It’s a hodgepodge of features, but everything is useful and fits the theme well.

The second subclass is one of my favorites, the Swarmkeeper. A Swarmkeeper is a master of a swarm of insects, bugs, or pixies. The swarm is fairly powerful and can be used to add damage to an attack, knock a hostile prone, or even move you around the battlefield. At higher levels, you can use the swarm to fly or even teleport away from danger. This is one of those subclasses where creativity can really maximize its power.

Beast Master Changes

We end with the new Beast Master changes. These changes are welcome, in my opinion. Instead of picking from the full list of beasts, you now choose from one of three stat blocks: Beast of the Land, Beast of the Sea, and Beast of the Sky.

Under the new rules, your beast acts during your turn. It can only dodge unless you use your bonus action to command it. When you do so, you can use an action in its stat block or one of the basic actions available to all creatures. Additionally, you may sacrifice one of your attacks when you take the attack action to instead attack with your beast. If you are incapacitated, your beast acts independently and can take any action available to it.

Wrapping Up our Tashas Cauldron of Everything Ranger Guide

That’s a lot of new options! And don’t forget that every class gets this same type of treatment. I’m a big fan of Tasha’s so far, and I’m curious to hear what you think. let me know in the comment section!


  1. Thanks for the summary! Quick note; it’s “Deft Explorer”, not “Daft Explorer”, though my groups generally play the latter 😉

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.